Terms and Units

Steffi LaZerte

2018-10-08

This table shows details regarding original column (measurement) names and units of all measurements. It further provides links back to the ECCC glossary for more details.

Interval ECCC Name Formatted weathercan name units Reference
hour Date/Time time ISO date/time NA
hour Year year year ECCC glossary page
hour Month month month ECCC glossary page
hour Day day day ECCC glossary page
hour Time hour hour ECCC glossary page
hour Data Quality qual note ECCC glossary page
hour Temp (°C) temp °C ECCC glossary page
hour Temp Flag temp_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
hour Dew Point Temp (°C) temp_dew °C ECCC glossary page
hour Dew Point Temp Flag temp_dew_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
hour Rel Hum (%) rel_hum % ECCC glossary page
hour Rel Hum Flag rel_hum_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
hour Wind Dir (10s deg) wind_dir 10s deg ECCC glossary page
hour Wind Dir Flag wind_dir_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
hour Wind Spd (km/h) wind_spd km/h ECCC glossary page
hour Wind Spd Flag wind_spd_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
hour Visibility (km) visib km ECCC glossary page
hour Visibility Flag visib_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
hour Stn Press (kPa) pressure kPa ECCC glossary page
hour Stn Press Flag pressure_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
hour Hmdx hmdx index ECCC glossary page
hour Hmdx Flag hmdx_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
hour Wind Chill wind_chill index ECCC glossary page
hour Wind Chill Flag wind_chill_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
hour Weather weather note ECCC glossary page
day Date/Time date ISO date NA
day Year year year ECCC glossary page
day Month month month ECCC glossary page
day Day day day ECCC glossary page
day Data Quality qual note ECCC glossary page
day Max Temp (°C) max_temp °C ECCC glossary page
day Max Temp Flag max_temp_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Min Temp (°C) min_temp °C ECCC glossary page
day Min Temp Flag min_temp_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Mean Temp (°C) mean_temp °C ECCC glossary page
day Mean Temp Flag mean_temp_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Heat Deg Days (°C) heat_deg_days °C ECCC glossary page
day Heat Deg Days Flag heat_deg_days_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Cool Deg Days (°C) cool_deg_days °C ECCC glossary page
day Cool Deg Days Flag cool_deg_days_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Total Rain (mm) total_rain mm ECCC glossary page
day Total Rain Flag total_rain_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Total Snow (cm) total_snow cm ECCC glossary page
day Total Snow Flag total_snow_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Total Precip (mm) total_precip mm ECCC glossary page
day Total Precip Flag total_precip_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Snow on Grnd (cm) snow_grnd cm ECCC glossary page
day Snow on Grnd Flag snow_grnd_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Dir of Max Gust (10s deg) dir_max_gust 10s deg ECCC glossary page
day Dir of Max Gust Flag dir_max_gust_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
day Spd of Max Gust (km/h) spd_max_gust km/h ECCC glossary page
day Spd of Max Gust Flag spd_max_gust_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Date/Time date ISO date NA
month Year year year ECCC glossary page
month Month month month ECCC glossary page
month Mean Max Temp (°C) mean_max_temp °C ECCC glossary page
month Mean Max Temp Flag mean_max_temp_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Mean Min Temp (°C) mean_min_temp °C ECCC glossary page
month Mean Min Temp Flag mean_min_temp_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Mean Temp (°C) mean_temp °C ECCC glossary page
month Mean Temp Flag mean_temp_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Extr Max Temp (°C) extr_max_temp °C ECCC glossary page
month Extr Max Temp Flag extr_max_temp_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Extr Min Temp (°C) extr_min_temp °C ECCC glossary page
month Extr Min Temp Flag extr_min_temp_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Total Rain (mm) total_rain mm ECCC glossary page
month Total Rain Flag total_rain_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Total Snow (cm) total_snow cm ECCC glossary page
month Total Snow Flag total_snow_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Total Precip (mm) total_precip mm ECCC glossary page
month Total Precip Flag total_precip_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Snow Grnd Last Day (cm) snow_grnd_last_day cm ECCC glossary page
month Snow Grnd Last Day Flag snow_grnd_last_day_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Dir of Max Gust (10’s deg) dir_max_gust 10’s deg ECCC glossary page
month Dir of Max Gust Flag dir_max_gust_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette
month Spd of Max Gust (km/h) spd_max_gust km/h ECCC glossary page
month Spd of Max Gust Flag spd_max_gust_flag note See the ‘flags’ vignette